Demographic Profile

JTELP is being implemented in 14 TSP districts, spread over both the Chhotanagpur-Kolhan and Santhal Pargana regions. These districts are Dumka, Pakur, Sahebganj, Godda, Jamtara, Ranchi, Khunti, East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum, Saraikela-Kharsawan, Lohardaga, Latehar, Gumla and Simdega. Approximately 136,000 households in the poorest blocks in these districts have been covered on a saturation basis. Emphasis has been placed on selecting clusters of adjacent villages to create contiguity for demonstrating impact and facilitating scaling-up and has been comprised predominantly with tribal-populations. Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PTG) has a special focus.

Project interventions has been done in Ranchi, Khunti, Gumla, Simdega and Lohardaga districts in Ranchi Division, West Singhbhum, East Singhbhum and Saraikela-Kharsawan districts in Kolhan Division, Latehar in Palamau Division and Godda, Dumka, Pakur, Sahebganj and Jamtara in Santhal Pargana Division. These are all Integrated Tribal Development Agency (ITDA)/Tribal Sub-plan (TSP) districts. Within these districts the blocks (sub-districts) that have rural tribal population of more than 50% and population below poverty line (BPL) of at least 50% will be selected.